Residents of the Schodack Central School District voted to approve a $28,693,526 budget for the 2024-2025 School Year by a vote of 373 (YES) to 153 (NO).

This budget represents a $673,417 increase from the 2023-2024 School Year. The estimated tax levy increase for the 2024-2025 Budget is 2.85%, which is below the allowable tax levy limit set by New York State.

Additionally, voters approved the purchase of 2 additional school buses for the district by a vote of 406 (YES) to 120 (NO).

Residents also elected Kurt Maier, Tylea Gebbie and Jennifer Rogowski to the three open seats on the Schodack Board of Education and elected Marion Spar to a fourth vacant seat which was open. The three open seats are each for a 3-year term (July 1, 2024-June 30, 2027) and the fourth vacant seat is for an approximately 1-year term (May 21, 2024-June 30, 2025).

Vote counts and candidate names are below in the order they appeared on the ballot:

Jennifer Rogowski: 376

Marion Spar: 371

Kurt Maier: 416

Tylea Gebbie: 389

The district thanks all the residents who participated in this year’s budget vote and board election.